Skip to main content
All CollectionsProduct Help & Support (Updated)Staff
How do I make a staff member inactive / active again
How do I make a staff member inactive / active again

How to make a staff member inactive and active again and increase or decrease license count.

Updated this week

Edition: Professional, Business, Enterprise

User-level: Director, System Administrator


Staff can't be deleted as they are linked to projects or time/expense transactions. Instead, you can make them inactive to stop the record showing in drop-down lists in Synergy. You are always able to make staff active again if you find missing timesheets approvals or project transactions.

It's important to note that Synergy will not automatically decrease your license count upon making a Staff member inactive, you will need to manually reduce your license count if the Staff member is not being replaced immediately.

Likewise, in order to make a Staff member active again, you'll need to ensure you increase your license count to allow them to be active again.


How to make staff inactive

From the Staff list

  1. Organisation menu > Staff

  2. Select the checkboxes to the left of the staff that you want to mark as inactive

  3. Click the action dropdown menu and choose 'Set as not active'

With an End Date

  1. Double click into the Staff members profile.

  2. Click 'Edit' on their details page.

  3. Add an 'End date' to the end date calendar.

  4. 'Save' your changes

  5. Once the End date comes up, the Staff member will automatically be made inactive.

Note: You can add an end date in the past, this will automatically make the Staff member inactive immediately.


How to make staff active again

From the Staff list

  1. Organisation menu > Staff

  2. Select the search icon in the top right hand corner

  3. Change the staff status filter to show Inactive staff, and then click Search

  4. Select the checkboxes) to the left of the staff that you want to mark as active

  5. Click the action dropdown menu and choose 'Set as active'

With the End Date

  1. Click into the Staff member's profile and click 'Edit' on their details page.

  2. Remove the 'End date' to the end date calendar section by selecting 'clear'.

  3. 'Save' your changes.

  4. This will remove the staff member from your 'Inactive' list and re-add them to the active list.


Increase/Decrease License Count - Where Needed

  1. Go to Organisation drop down > Subscription.

  2. Click on "Change product, users or storage".

  3. Increase/decrease license count by the amount of Staff you've made active/inactive.

  4. Click Calculate, and then Next.


Tips!

  • Inactive staff will no longer be able to access your organisation.

  • Use the list filter 'all' to find both active and inactive staff.

  • A strike-out style is applied to rows that are inactive.

  • If you select to make the staff record as 'inactive' in the staff list, then the record will have an 'end date' of yesterday's date entered. This will terminate the staff record and stop it from being used in Synergy today.

  • If you have made staff inactive you will need to reduce your licenses in the subscription screen


Where to next?

N/A

What other features does this relate to?

Did this answer your question?