By default, these are set to on. But in Settings > Organization > Configuration you can change these to off.
When these are set to off, any unavailable period is automatically approved. This is used when staff already enter their leave in a dedicated HR system.
If a staff member makes a change to their availability with approvals set to off, their manager will receive a notice that their availability has changed but is not required to approve it.