Edition: Business, Enterprise
User-level: Director, System Administrator
You can update the Default Rate Group on a project at any time, and optionally apply it to all stages and WIP transactions in one go.
Updating the Project Rate Group
To update the Rate Group at a project level:
Go to the Project Details page
In the Default Rate Group section, click the pen icon
This will open the Update Rate Group modal
From here:
Use the dropdown to select a new default Rate Group
Any new stages created in the project will use this updated Rate Group by default
You’ll also see a checkbox labelled “Update all Stages and WIP to this Rate Group”
If checked, this will:
Update all stages (excluding Completed and Unsuccessful Stages) in the project to use the new Rate Group
Recalculate all uninvoiced transactions (WIP) to use the new Rate Group
Only transactions with a WIP status will be updated. Transactions in other statuses (e.g. Invoiced, Written Off) will remain unchanged. If you later change a transaction’s status back to WIP (e.g. by undoing a write-off), that transaction will adopt the new Rate Group.
Note: Depending on the number of transactions in the project, you may notice a slight delay before your financials reflect the changes.
Updating the Stage Rate Group
You can also update Rate Groups at the Stage Level. This can be done from the Work Breakdown, Stage Management, or Project Breakdown.
When you change the Rate Group for a stage:
All WIP transactions on that stage will be recalculated using the new Rate Group
Transactions in other statuses (Invoiced, Written Off, etc.) will remain unchanged
If you later change a transaction's status back to WIP, it will adopt the latest Rate Group applied to the stage.
If you don’t want certain transactions to be affected, make sure they’re invoiced (or in another non-WIP status) before applying these changes.
You can change the selected rate group for the stage from the Stage Management page or from the work breakdown.
Work Breakdown:
From the project navigation, got to Breakdown > Work Breakdown
Hover over the stage you want to edit > select the pen on the right hand side, and click View Details
Click the Rate Group drop down menu and select a new rate group
Select Apply and then save in the top right hand corner.
Save the work breakdown.
Stage management:
From the project navigation, got to Breakdown > Stage Management
Open the stage you want to edit.
Change the rate group from the dropdown as outlined below
Save in the bottom right-hand corner
Project Breakdown:
From the project navigation, go to Breakdown > Project Breakdown
Scroll across to the Rate Group column
Click the rate group name in the stage you want to change, and select the rate group from the dropdown
A warning shows, stating your budget will be cleared when updating the rates. Click Change Rates to proceed.
The change on the project breakdown is automatically saved after this.
Security & Permissions
To change a Project Rate Group, you’ll need the “Add Project Variations” security permission (under Rates)
To change a Stage Rate Group, you’ll need the “Manage Stage Rates” security permission (under Rates)
Project and stage specific rates
Project and stage specific rates can be used to adjust the rate charge values on a project or its stages.
Create a project specific rate
From the project navigation bar, go to Billing > Rates.
Click on the rate you want to update to open it.
Click on the 'Create project specific rate' button.
Enter the new rate value, the date the value will be effective from, select Save, and then select Close.
The default rate value is displayed with a strikethrough. The new rate value is shown in the 'Project specific charge value' column.
Create a stage specific rate
From the project navigation bar, go to Billing > Rates.
Change the view from 'Project : [Project name]' to 'Stage : [Stage name]'.
Click on the rate to open it.
Click on the 'Create stage specific rate' button.
Enter the new rate value, the date the value will be effective from, select Save, and then select Close.
A tick is displayed on the project rates page to indicate that a stage specific rate has been set.
Rollback project/stage specific rates
Open the project and go to the Project menu > Financials > Rates.
Open the stage/project specific rate you want to undo
Select 'View rate history'
Select the pencil to the right of the project/stage specific rate > Rollback
Restrict to specific rates
When the 'restrict to specific rates' is checked you can only use the rates where a stage specific rate has been created when entering timesheets, creating budgets and invoicing.
This can be done from either the Work Breakdown, or the Project Breakdown.
Work Breakdown
From the project navigation, got to Breakdown > Work Breakdown
Hover over the stage you want to edit > select the pen on the right hand side, and click View Details
Click the Restrict to specific rates check box
Click Apply
Save the work breakdown
Project Breakdown
From the project navigation, got to Breakdown > Project Breakdown
Click the row action menu > Open Details
Click the Restrict Rates checkbox
Then save the changes.

















