Step 1: Login to QBO Connect
When you first open QBO Connect within Synergy you will be redirected to the QBO login page.
Login to your QBO Online account (your account for my.QBO.com.au) by typing your email address and password.
Click login and you will be taken to the QBO Connect preview.
When the connection expires you will be automatically disconnected from QBO, and prompted to 'Connect to QBO' again if you want to continue.
To logout of your my.QBO.com.au account, select the 'Logout from QBO Online' option in the top of the screen.
Step 2: Check the Synergy Connect settings
Default settings are applied for your company file to make using QBO Connect easy. Customize the following settings (optional) if required to change how data is displayed in QBO, or which account the data is transferred into in QBO. Learn more about each of the QBO Connect Settings.
Settings that can be updated are:
General settings - Set the export from date, to control from what date Synergy will look for details to send to QBO.
Invoice and credit note settings - Select what details are sent to QBO for the invoice, and setup the account code mapping.
Invoice payments - Select if payments will be imported from QBO to Synergy, or exported from Synergy to QBO. When exporting payments you can also select which bank account the payments should be added to in QBO.
Bill settings - Choose if bills will be exported from Synergy to QBO. Setup the account code mapping option, and choose what details will show on each of the bill lines in QBO.
Staff expense settings - Choose if staff cash and travel expenses will be exported from Synergy to QBO. Setup the account code mapping option, and choose what details will show on each of the staff expense bill lines in QBO.
Tax settings - Map which tax code is used in QBO for each of the Synergy tax codes. This is required for invoices and expenses.
Each time a setting is changed there is an audit to track who changed the setting, and what the value was before the change.
Read a detailed overview about each of the QBO Connect settings.
Step 3: Preview the results
The QBO Connect preview performs a real-time check between Synergy and QBO to see what data will be sent in the next sync. New invoices, credit notes, or payments that don't exist in Synergy / QBO will be shown in the preview page. Use the Preview screen in QBO Connect to:
Resolve any warning messages shown for the data about to be transferred to QBO.
Check what invoices or credit notes will be created in QBO.
Check the invoice contact records that will be created in QBO.
Check what job items will be created in QBO for the linked invoices or credit notes.
Check which payments will be imported or exported to QBO.
Run the QBO Connect sync once all errors shown have been resolved.
Tip: Learn more about previewing and running the sync to QBO.
Step 4: View the history of the previous syncs, or view the skipped records
After a sync has been run the other tab for 'skipped record' and 'history' will be populated with the results.
Use the 'History' tab to check what data was exported to QBO during the Connect sync.
Use the 'Skipped records' tab to find any items that have been skipped, and add then back to be sent in a future Connect run.
Learn more about using QBO Connect history and skipped records features.
Disconnect from your QBO company file once you are finished running the sync by clicking the 'Disconnect' button in the top toolbar. You will not logout of QBO.com if you have that open in other web browser tabs, only remove the Synergy Connect session.
Only one Synergy userat a time should sync to the same file using Synergy QBO Connect. Do not run the sync from two computers to the same file at the same time.