Skip to main content

Internal Project - Stages and Tasks

How to configure the Internal Project's Stages and Tasks for non-billable office tasks.

Edition: Business, Enterprise

User-level: Assistant Administrator, System Administrator


In Synergy you have one Internal Project, along with a default set of Stages and Tasks that can be used, edited, added to or made inactive.

The internal project is hidden in the project list, but is shown in timesheet and expense entry areas to track time or expense costs related to internal tasks.

The Internal project is shown in the 'project' drop down list on any page that allows Time or Expenses to be added (Timesheet, Cash, Travel, Office Expenses and Bills).

This is required when the expense needs to be paid / reimbursed but it cannot be on-charged to a client on a project (making it an internal office expense).

There is a default internal stage called 'leave', which includes tasks like: annual, sick, public holiday, time in lieu, long service, without pay, parental.

This stage is used to let staff enter their different leave types into their timesheets, and it is the only Stage that can be marked as "Is Leave Stage".


Add an Internal Stage and Tasks

  1. From the side menu, click your organisation name > Organisation Settings > Organisation > Internal Project Tasks.

  2. Click the Add button.

  3. Configure (these can be edited later)

    1. Enter a Stage name

    2. Tick 'active'

    3. If this is stage is to contain utilised tasks by default, tick - otherwise leave unticked

    4. Save to continue and create your new Stage

  4. Choose Cost Centre & Discipline if they are different to your defaults.

  5. Click 'Add Task' and begin adding tasks that can be used from this stage, on the Internal Project.

    • You can choose to make these tasks utilised independently if required.

  6. Once you've added all tasks, click save.

You can come back and edit these at any time.


Actions Available on Internal Stages and Tasks

To edit a Stage

  • Click on the Stage line, from here you can:

    • Edit the name

    • Make it inactive by removing the tick

    • Change Cost Centre or Discipline

To Edit tasks

  • Open the Stage

  • Click on the Task, from here you can:

    • Change the name

    • Make it inactive by removing the tick

    • Make it Utilised/Non Utilised

Bulk Actions (Set as Active, Set as Not Active, or Delete)

As with most lists within Synergy, you can select multiple options by putting a tick beside the Stage name or Task name.

  • Select the Stages/Tasks you want to bulk update

  • Click the bulk-actions down arrow at the bottom of the list

  • Select your option

    • Set as active

    • Set as inactive

    • Delete

Note: If a Stage or Task has been previously used by a staff member, you will not be able to delete the item, and will only be able to make it inactive to prevent it being used in the future.


Searching and Finding Inactive Stages

When you make a stage inactive, it will be hidden from your list by default, but not gone.

Find a Stage

  • Click the Magnifying glass to open the search box.

  • Type a search word (stage name)

  • Change the drop-down from "Active" to "All", or "Inactive"

  • Click Search

Make a Stage Active Again:

  • Use tick the box near the stage name

  • Click the bulk-action down arrow > Set as active, OR

  • Click the stage line to edit

  • Tick 'Is active'

  • Save

Did this answer your question?